Connecting to the present moment brings you short glimpses of satisfaction.

I’m saying that because after 2 weeks of daily, almost religious meditation with Deepak Chopra, I’ve reached a point where those words are not only a statement-> to me those words are true.

This week I was on a business trip and while flying to my destination I’ve met a French business man. Let me paint you the picture: I don’t speak French, but considering it’s a Latin language I do know some basic phrases and greetings. Usually, when I go abroad I speak English, Italian or even German, in some circumstances.

As English is the universal language almost everywhere in Europe, except for a few places where they prefer Russian, I assumed that the man sitting next to me was familiar with the English idiom. Guess what? He wasn’t.
Feeling uncomfortable after realizing the passenger wasn’t able to understand me, I tried to fix the situation by asking what language could he speak. His polite reply was: “français”. (French)

Smiling and trying to show a friendly face (while feeling a bit embarrassed) I carried a short conversation with this gentleman and felt surprisingly good about my own knowledge of French vocabulary. I mean, when faced with an unprecedented and unexpected situation like that one…somehow I raised to the challenge.

Anyway, that’s not the end of the story.

The second day, on my flight back the same guy was among the group of people who were boarding the plane. He saw me, smiled and said “hello”, in French of course 🙂 …thus, I guess feeling awkward for a bit, but pushing through that and making the effort to connect with people… who were there near me (at some point in time), made the difference between a normal/boring flight and an unusual, yet interesting one.

The conclusion could be: “what you put out into the world comes back to you.” In my case…there was a smile…in yours can be something completely different. Just try to be present as much as you can and life will surprise you.

Image

PS: My attempt to start that conversation was triggered by empathy, I noticed how scared the passenger was of flying and I just tried to distract him from that sensation…

About lightbringer

love
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

